The Droitwich Canal
The Droitwich Canal was surveyed by Brindley, and work on the canal commenced in 1768. Although only six miles long it was considered to be a model canal with eight short locks. It played an important part in transporting coal and salt between Droitwich and the river Severn. The canal was completed in 1771.
The Droitwich Canal was legally abandoned in 1938, but there has been very little demolition and destruction. It is therefore possible that this canal may reopen at some point in the future.